Steering Committee

DFC is guided by an elected Steering Committee and directed by an elected Convener to accomplish its goals through committees of volunteers focused on the community’s most urgent needs. Elections for the Convener, Vice Convener, Secretary and Steering Committee are held annually, at the membership meeting in May. Steering Committee members serve for three years, and they may serve more than one term successively. The bylaws require that one third of the members of the Steering Committee be persons who identify themselves as someone with a disability.

The 2016-2017 Steering Committee:

Jan Haley-Schwoyer, Convener (term expires: 2017)
Retired principal at Jangle Advertising and parent of a young adult with a disability
Contact: jan@jangleadvertising.com

Bob Wittman, Vice Convener (term expires: 2017)
Former newspaper reporter and retired nonprofit grant writer
Contact: bob4dfc@ptd.net

Cynthia Lambert, Secretary (term expires: 2017)
Vice President for Government and Community Relations, Good Shepherd Rehabilitation Network
Contact: clambert@gsrh.org

Frank Barella (term expires: 2018)
Director of Quality Improvement and Compliance, The Arc of Lehigh and Northampton Counties
Contact: fbarella@arcoflehighnorthampton.org

Amy Beck (term expires: 2018)
Executive Director, Lehigh Valley Center for Independent Living
Contact: amybect@lvcil.org

Tim Boyer (term expires: 2019)
Administrator, Lehigh Countyh Office of mental Health and Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
Contact: timboyer@lehighcounty.org

Susan Firman (term expires: 2018)
Consumer and community advocate
Contact: swfirman@rcn.com

Randall Forte (term expires: 2019)
Executive Director, Lehigh Valley Arts Council
Contact: rforte@lvartscouncil.org

Susan Storm (term expires: 2019)
District Administrator, Pennsylvania Office of Vocational Rehabilitation
Contact: sustorm@pa.gov

Doug Yingling (term expires: 2017)
Executive Director, Lehigh Valley Center for Vision Loss
Contact: doug.yingling@centerforvisionloss.org